Eco-swap

The swap-forum I’m part of organized a swap with as theme: “ecology”.  Strange enough I immediately had some nice ideas to work out.  One of the ideas was to colour natural yarn with natural dyes…..but well, when researching this it turned out it wasn’t really easy and I wasn’t sure the colours would turn out nice enough…so I kept the yarn to myself ;) .  The next idea was to make a Wine cork trivet.  Lou has been collecting wine corks since he could talk ;) and he was so kind as to give some to me.  As I know my swappartner is also very crafty, likes to read and knits a lot, I ‘screenprinted’ 2 cotton bags: a little one to take her knitwork along, the other one to go to the library.  I made a soapchain with homemade soap in natural colours and wooden beads; I assembled some natural “potpourri” and added an essential oil mix of tangerines and citrus to it, and put it in a bowl made of banana leaves.  And I added some flower seeds to finish it.  Now that my swappartner received it, I can post the pictures as well.  I hope she likes it!

Het swap-forum waar ik actief ben organizeerde een swap met thema “eco” en raar genoeg kreeg ik al dadelijk leuke en haalbare ideeën.  Het eerste idee dat ik kreeg was om wol te kleuren met natuurlijke kleuren (met planten dus), maar hoe meer ik daarover las hoe minder zeker ik werd dat het wel zou lukken…dus hield ik de wol maar voor mezelf ;) .   Het volgende idee was om een onderlegger voor potten te maken met wijnkurken.  Lou verzamelt al wijnkurken sinds hij kan praten ;)  en hij was zo lief om er af te staan voor mijn project.  Omdat mijn swappartner ook een creatieve duizendpoot is die graag leest en breit, ‘zeefdrukte’ ik 2 katoenen tasjes: eentje om een breiwerkje in mee te nemen, eentje om naar de bib te gaan.  Ik maakte ook nog een zeepketting van een zeepje met natuurlijke kleuren en houten kralen en stelde een natuurlijke potpourri samen, deed er een etherische oliemix van mandarijn en citrus bij en deed deze in een kom van bananenbladeren.  En dan deed ik er nog wat bloemenzaadjes bij.  Vandaag heeft mijn swappartner haar pakje aangekregen en kan ik dus de foto’s hier plaatsen.  Ik hoop dat ze het een leuk pakje vond!

Leave a Reply

