Cottage Pie

Lex licked his plate yesterday evening. I didn’t, but I wanted too, really! I’m planning to make this dish again, but double the quantity because I had NO LEFTOVERS! I thought I’d made enough, but it was so good everybody wanted seconds! That chorizo spice blend is awesome, I suspect I’ll be using it a lot ;) . The quantities showed in the recipe is what I made yesterday, it was just enough to feed the 5 of us.

  • 1.2 kg ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • bone broth
  • 2 – 3 tablespoons chorizo spice blend
  • 1.2 kg cauliflower (I used frozen, but you can use fresh if you want)
  • 1 cup coconut milk (you could use fresh milk if you tolerate dairy)
  • 2 tablespoons butter or coconut oil
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • celtic sea salt
  • freshly ground nutmeg

Melt 1 tbsp of butter or coconut oil in a heavy bottomed skillet (I used a skillet I could put in the oven afterwards too). Saute the onions, carrots and garlic until the onions become transluscent. Add the ground beef and break it up with a wooden spoon. Saute until brown. Season with 1 or 2 tbsps of chorizo spice blend (I added 2, we like spicy :) ) and some celtic sea salt, add the tomato paste and some bone broth. Let it simmer until the broth has evaporated. Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F.

In the meantime boil or steam the cauliflower. Drain it, then puree with the coconut milk, 1 tbsp coconut oil or butter and season with salt, pepper, nutmeg and garlic powder.

If you didn’t use a skillet that can go in the oven transfer the meat mixture to an oven dish. Spread the cauli-puree on top of the meat with a spatula. Make a zigzag pattern in the puree with a fork. Sprinkle the top with 1 tbsp chorizo blend. Transfer to the oven and bake for 25 minutes. I served it with braised chicory.

Lex heeft gisterenavond zijn bord letterlijk afgelikt. Ik niet, maar ik had er wel veel zin in! Dit gerecht wil ik nog eens maken, maar dan verdubbel ik de hoeveelheden want ik had NIETS OVER! Ik dacht nochtans dat ik genoeg had gemaakt, maar het was zo lekker dat iedereen nog een portie wou! Die chorizo kruidenmix is trouwens fantastisch lekker, dit is mijn nieuwe favoriete kruidenmix ;) . De hoeveelheden hieronder is wat ik gisteren gemaakt heb, het was net genoeg voor ons 5.

  • 1.2 kg rundsgehakt
  • 1 ui, fijn gehakt
  • 2 wortelen, fijn gehakt
  • 1 teentje knoflook, fijn gehakt
  • 1 eetlepel tomatenconcentraat
  • beenderbouillon
  • 2 – 3 eetlepels chorizo spice blend
  • 1.2 kg bloemkool, in roosjes (ik heb diepvries gebruikt, je kan uiteraard ook met verse werken)
  • 1 kop kokosmelk (als je melk goed verdraagt kan je ook melk of room gebruiken)
  • 2 eetlepels boter of kokosolie
  • 1 theelepel lookpoeder
  • versgemalen zwarte peper
  • keltisch zeezout
  • versgemalen muskaatnoot

Smelt 1 eetlepel boter of kokosolie in een pan met dikke bodem (ik heb een pan gebruikt die ik nadien ook in de oven kon zetten). Fruit de uien, wortelen en look tot de uien transparant worden. Voeg het gehakt toe en breek het met een houten lepel in kleine brokjes. Bak het gehakt rul tot het bruin is. Breng op smaak met 1 of 2 eetlepels chorizo kruidenmengsel (ik deed er 2 bij, wij houden wel van wat pit :) ) en zout, voeg de geconcentreerde tomatenpasta en wat bouillon toe. Laat sudderen tot de bouillon verdampt is. Verwarm de oven voor op 200°C.

Kook of stoom ondertussen de bloemkoolroosjes tot ze gaar zijn. Laat ze uitlekken, pureer ze dan met de (kokos)melk, 1 eetlepel boter of kokosolie en breng op smaak met boter, peper, muskaatnoot en lookpoeder.

Als je een pan hebt gebruikt die niet in de oven mag doe het vleesmengsel dan nu in een ovenschotel. Spreid de bloemkoolpuree er bovenop met een spatel. Maak met een vork een zigzag patroon in de puree. Bestrooi met 1 el chorizo kruiden. Zet de schotel in de oven bak zo’n 25 minuten. Ik gaf er gestoofd witloof bij.

4 thoughts on “Cottage Pie

  1. Hmmm, klinkt goed, ik heb het allemaal in huis dus (misschien deze week nog) proberen. Morgen eerst wat huishoudelijke klussen doen en een (normale) whiskykuchen bakken. (Hebben we altijd op zaterdag voor onze klanten)

  2. Pingback: Candy in Primal Wonderland - Page 70 | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page 70

  3. Pingback: 21 Day Sugar Detox: week 1 | Candy in Wonderland

  4. Pingback: Fermented mustard | Candy in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

